INTERNET OPTIONS  -  CONTENT TAB


The fourth TAB (window) on the Internet Options window is the Content TAB. It has since been stripped of its Content Advisor (Parental Controls) feature, which enabled you to control (to a certain degree) the type of content Internet Explorer was allowed to view; via conditions set in the Content Advisor. Now there are only two settings worth paying attention to, that need explaining. The first is the CLEAR SSL STATE button in the Certificates section and the second is the SETTINGS button in the AutoComplete section.

Internet Explorer 11 Content Tab

Fig 4.0 - Click on CLEAR SSL STATE to clear your Secure, Online-Payment, Form Data.

Clicking on the CLEAR SSL STATE button will clear (delete) any Secure, Online-Payment, Form Data you have submitted to a Bank website or PayPal payment website for example. This is ideal if you are in an Internet Cafe and do not want the next customer to be able to see and use your online-payment details. Take this scenario: If you leave an online-payment website (after paying) to go to a standard website, view that standard website and then leave open that internet explorer when you leave the Internet Café, you are asking for trouble.

This is because the next customer could easily flip BACK a web page or two until they land back on your online-payment details web page. Not all websites clear their form data from your computer, because they have a certain Timeout (Keep The Details) period before those details are cleared. Hence why the quickly flipping BACK a couple of pages technique works.

A secure website, such as an online-payment website, always has a Padlock icon on or next to internet explorer's Address Bar edit box. This only means it secures (encrypts) your form data when sent from your computer to the Bank's computer for example - It does not mean the form data is protected/encrypted as you type it into the form itself though. To stop any secure online-payment form data from being stored on your computer in the first place tick the DO NOT SAVE ENCRYPTED PAGES TO DISK advanced setting, found in the Security section of the Advanced TAB.


Clicking on the SETTINGS button (Fig 4.1 below) brings up the AutoComplete Settings window (Fig 4.2). On that window you can decide what AutoComplete completes. For example: I have chosen to have AutoComplete switched on when I type out Website Addresses, fill in Forms, type out Usernames & Passwords and so on by putting a tick next to each AutoComplete option (Fig 4.2). When you have finished setting up AutoComplete click on the OK button to continue.

Internet Explorer 11 Content Tab

Fig 4.1 - Click on the SETTINGS button to bring up the....

AutoComplete is a feature of Internet Explorer 11 that automatically completes a word, or sequence of words, for you based on a word or sequence of words you have typed before. For example: If you are writing a book and for the first time type CHAPTER you must type CHAPTER out completely. However, if you were to then type CHAPTER again, this time around you would only have to type CH for example before Auto Complete would automatically complete CHAPTER for you - as it knows you have typed CHAPTER before. If you have typed CHARLIE before, when you start typing CH Auto Complete will give you a choice. CHAPTER or CHARLIE.

Internet Explorer 11 Content Tab

Fig 4.2 - ....the AutoComplete Settings window.

If I wanted AutoComplete to save any typed out Passwords I would of put a tick next to the ASK ME BEFORE SAVING PASSWORDS option as well, but I did not. Why? Because it is better to type out your passwords rather than have AutoComplete save them on your computer. For example: If you check your e-mail with the username and password already filled in, it means the username and password is more than likely being stored somewhere on your computer (either inside a file and/or inside a Registry Value) whereas if you have to type out the password each time you check your e-mail, the password will more than likely have to be verified over the telephone line. With a 'saved password' file your e-mail software (e-mail client) just verifies/compares it to a 'saved password' file on the e-mail server. So the disadvantage of a 'saved password' file is that it can be attacked much easier than a typed in password going straight down the telephone line for verification.


If you need to clear the AutoComplete history click on the DELETE AUTOCOMPLETE HISTORY button to continue. Doing so will open the Delete Browsing History window, as explained in Fig 1.4 of the General TAB section.